let your light shine

I love surprise inspiration and love.

It hits you without warning and brightens your day.

One of my favorite yoga teachers, Tina James, left a note with this message at the end of my mat after today’s practice:

You bring the world such joy,
In so many ways,
Like a warm, radiant sun
That brightens the days

Your beauty, your confidence
Your spirit so strong,
All shine from within
Like a wonderful song.

Your talent, your grace
The gifts that you share,
With faith and wisdom
Show the ways you care.

Your plans and dreams
For what’s yet to be . . .
Your ideas for the future,
Are the hopes shared with me,

And as we let our own light shine,
We consciously give other people
Permission to do the same.
As we’re liberated from our own fear,
Our presence automatically
liberates others.

Gorgeous isn’t it?

It brought the biggest smile to my face and warmth to my heart.

It was exactly what I needed to be reminded if today – I was feeling very melancholy after a tearful goodbye with my twin sister this morning. She’s on her way back to Australia after spending quality time the last 3 weeks together. I’m so grateful for receiving this message today of all days.

Tina said to pay the note forward when the time is right to pass onto another. I tend to collect and keep these kinds of things, so I’m looking forward to letting go and spreading the message. Passing it onto another who will hopefully feel what I felt when reading this today.

Expressing our joy and passion not only liberates and empowers ourselves, but it acts as an invitation for others around us to do the same.

Now that’s a win/win situation if ever I saw one!

If you needed another reason to follow your heart, this is it.

How wonderful that by living out our own dreams and letting our light shine bright, we are also being of service to others.

Contribution by default.

How are you letting your own light shine today?

20130827-180751.jpg

About juliamatheson

Certified Life Coach, Speaker, Writer.

One response to “let your light shine

  1. Wonderful poem and inspiring message, thank you for sharing πŸ˜‰ It is an amazing revelation when you express yourself through your passions and feel the joy not only in yourself, but in everyone around you that you lift up πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Instagram

There is so much beauty to be found in the perceived flawed, the unravelled, the imperfect, the raw & the crumbling. If we could see this within ourselves as well as we can appreciate it in the outside world, oh what a joy it would be! πŸ™ŒπŸΌ
How much self love & appreciation there would be, along with a total disregard for comparison. πŸ’•
YOU are perfect!
πŸ‘ŒπŸΌ Missing the heat, the bright blue skies & the beautiful madness that is Morocco. (But most of all missing my twin & travel buddy! 😒) What an adventure we had πŸ™ŒπŸΌ πŸ˜‚ those Sunday feels . . . ✌🏼If I could leave the house wrapped in my doona,
I would. Brrr ❄️ Oh how I've missed the food from home! Such fresh, healthy, delicious goodness 😍 🌱
This is a Buddha Bowl from my local vegan cafe - quinoa, Kim chi, satay tofu, beetroot relish, roasted pumpkin & rocket. SO GOOD! πŸ˜‹(My Nan even had her first vegan meal & loved it - she wants to buy cashew cheese πŸ˜‚!) "It feels good to be lost in the right direction" βœŒπŸΌπŸ’™ Wandering the lanes in one of my favourite places in Morocco, a blue city built into the mountain side. The secret tonic to creativity. To living a life of freedom, vitality, exploration & adventure πŸ™ŒπŸΌ
